top of page

Week 2!

Week 2 is underway! The A13 Super Hawks have been doing an excellent job learning the rules of the school and classroom, and now it is time for the academics to begin! I will continue using Class Dojo to monitor behavior as we move forward with our learning. Please understand that at the beginning of the year I do tend to give and take points for more minor things so that students understand my expectations and so that problems do not arise later in the year.

This week we have started reviewing pictographs and bar graphs, and have begun learning how to create and analyze line plots! I plan on using their classwork to determine who will need extra help from me later in the week. I discourage you from helping your child TOO much with homework, as I do use that as an assessment tool to determine their understanding as well. By all means work with them, but try not to give them the answers (of course!) :)

In social studies we have started talking about the difference between rules and laws, and what their purpose is in our society. The students will be working independently in class to complete an alternative assessment in the form of a poster that offers examples of both rules and laws.

We are still working on building our reading stamina. I have no doubt that we will be able to build up to 30 minutes of solid, successful, independent reading! As we continue to strengthen our ability to read for extended periods of time, we will also begin using RAZ-kids to listen to books online. I will be sending home logins soon for students so that they can access this great tool at home! Keep a lookout for the link in the resources section of the blog.

As always, if you have any questions, comments, or concerns please don't hesitate to contact me via email or dojo!


bottom of page